Testimonials

10 Reviews | write a review

Here's what some satisfied customers have to say

Some of these reviews were submitted on other websites. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by these websites.

Cancel

Write a Review

Rating:
Quote:

Enter a quote such as: "I Love this company!"
Review:
Name:
City:
State:
Email:

(Optional, will only be used to communicate with you as needed.)
Nov 18, 2016 | | Venice Beach , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

I'm very happy with the surgery. I am difficult to please, and Dr. Ellenhorn did a wonderful job on my thyroidectomy. I didn't feel pain at all. I feel very good and I highly recommend this doctor to everyone!

Nov 7, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Dr. Arena is beautiful, she is the best doctor! Very easy to speak to. She is such a strong doctor. She spent so much time with me. I don't speak English very well, and she spent a lot of time to explain everything to me. Thank you to her and her staff.

Oct 31, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

I would like to say, Dr.Cohen is excellent. The pain was unbearable and he fixed it. The surgery that he did, it's just fantastic. My family and I are very thankful.

Oct 20, 2016 | | Mammoth Lakes , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Thank you so much for all you have done for me. It is such a blessing to enjoy life and have a break from all the craziness of what happened.

May 19, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Every morning, before her job as a business manager and personal assistant to a retired entrepreneur, Jennifer S. goes to the gym. She lifts weights, does pilates, runs on the treadmill, or attends spinning class between waking up and going to work. But for years, Jennifer had a difficult time getting to the gym as much as she wanted. She would have to spend hours each morning in the bathroom, because gastrointestinal problems meant that she couldn’t control her bowels. To make it to the gym, she would have to wake up an hour or more before she wanted to leave the house. Some days, she couldn’t leave the bathroom. She struggled with this condition for several years. It wasn’t life-threatening, she said, but it certainly had an effect on her quality of life. Previous doctors did not find a solution, but after a colonoscopy in fall 2013, a gastroenterologist referred Jennifer to Dr. Yosef Nasseri. Dr. Nasseri impressed Jennifer, she said: “He’s up on everything. He’s not stale, he’s into cutting-edge technology. I welcome that.” The diagnosis was rectal prolapse. And Dr. Nasseri had a solution for Jennifer’s problem: laparoscopic rectopexy. “I asked him, if your sister or mother was having this issue, would you recommend this surgery?” Jennifer said. “He said yes.” She wanted to get the operation done before the end of the year, so the date was set for Dec. 18. Dr. Nasseri operates at St. Johns, Marina Del Rey, Cedars Sinai and Mission Community hospitals. For Jennifer, he recommended Mission Community Hospital in Panorama City, and that’s where the operation was performed. In laparoscopic rectopexy surgery, the surgeon repairs rectal prolapse so that the rectum no longer protrudes from the anus. Stitches or mesh are used to fix the rectum in its normal place in the abdomen. The surgery is performed with “keyhole” incisions, each less than a quarter inch long, less than the size of the tip of a finger, and the doctor monitors with a tiny camera hooked up to a monitor. This means recovery is quicker and injury less likely, because less cutting is done to the body’s tissues. Jennifer said Dr. Nasseri recommended that the surgery be done via the abdomen, a good option for a young and fit patient. So it was, and the surgery went smoothly. “While I was in the hospital, he came to visit me every day, just about,” Jennifer said. “I know I was his only patient [at Mission Community Hospital]. I know he lives on the Westside. But he made it all the way out to Panorama City.” Especially because it was the holiday season, she said, she appreciated his presence. “He was great. I really, really enjoyed his bedside manner.” Jennifer spent several days in the hospital, and although she was uncomfortable, she was moving around and recovering well, so she was discharged. Discomfort and constipation lasted for a few days, but time and over-the-counter medicine helped. Due to the minimally invasive and purely laparoscopic approach, within a short time she was feeling better. For the first month, Jennifer had to eat a modified diet, and the transition back to normal food was gradual. Now, a few days shy of three months post-operation, Jennifer feels great. She wakes up twenty minutes before the gym, and no problems. She enjoys camping, as well as other activities that wouldn’t have been possible before. Future planning is more straightforward, as well: Jennifer is in her thirties, married for two years, and thinking about children. Taking care of children while having to spend up to two hours indisposed each morning, she said, did not sound possible; now, she’s much more positive about her ability to handle the schedule of a mother. “I’m totally normal now,” she said. “There’s not a day that goes by that I’m not glad I [had the surgery].”

May 19, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

About twelve years ago, Alan Blumenfeld’s father had an operation, performed by Dr. Jason Cohen. Then, several years later, when his son needed surgery as well, Mr. Blumenfeld and Dr. Cohen happened to run into each other, and they arranged for Dr. Cohen to perform that operation as well. Mr. Blumenfeld, an actor and teacher living in Culver City, remembered these experiences so positively that recently, when it came time to treat a hernia, he called Dr. Cohen back. Dr. Cohen has now treated three generations of Mr. Blumenfeld’s family, and Mr. Blumenfeld is completely satisfied. What makes Dr. Cohen stand out so much? Mr. Blumenfeld says it’s the human side of his practice. The ability to connect so genuinely is “a rare quality in general in people,” Mr. Blumenfeld said. “It’s rare in some physicians. It’s rarer still in surgeons. The fundamental distinction [between Dr. Cohen and some of his colleagues] is his humanity.” When Mr. Blumenfeld went in to see Dr. Cohen, he said, Dr. Cohen saw his name on the day’s schedule and remembered him. “He came in, gave me a big hug, asked me how my kids are. He’s that guy. That’s not a coincidence. That was actually the reason why I think he’s such a valuable asset as a medical professional.” Mr. Blumenfeld said that Dr. Cohen’s staff exhibit the same qualities. “They’re sweethearts,” he said. “They’re caring, genuine. It doesn’t feel perfunctory in any sense. They are genuinely connected, which is what I expect from his office.” In fact, Mr. Blumenfeld said, at a time when physicians are spending larger and larger portions of each office visit inputting or consulting data at computer terminals, he had heard that Dr. Cohen planned to hire a staff member to handle this task so he could focus entirely on conversations with patients. Dr. Cohen couples his personal touch with excellent diagnostic and surgical ability, Mr. Blumenfeld said. Mr. Blumenfeld’s surgery took place March 31. Afterward, Dr. Cohen said that there would be discomfort for the first few days, and there was; after that, Mr. Blumenfeld said, he felt fine. In fact, he had to remember to pace himself, so as to avoid the false sense of security that can lead patients to do too much, too fast. At the time of this interview, a little more than a month and a half post-operation, Mr. Blumenfeld was planning to head back to the gym for some moderate exercise. He still had some restrictions, so he was planning to use light weights and the elliptical machine. Mr. Blumenfeld said that if he ever needs surgery again, he will definitely call Dr. Cohen. “A surgeon is not an impulse buy,” Mr. Blumenfeld said. When you discover a good one, “you have to keep it in the front of your brain as years go by. “It’s a relationship I value and hope I don’t ever have to use again. But if I do, I hope I remember. He’s amazing.”

Apr 26, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Dr. Ellenhorn is an excellent surgeon. He is highly skilled, extremely knowledgeable and I trust his expertise. He guided me through a very difficult time in my life and I am so thankful for his talent and how much he has helped my family and I. Thank you Dr. Ellenhorn!

Mar 9, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Aeronautical engineer Robert Bell had been suffering from an inguinal hernia for several years. But at work, he had responsibilities that made it impossible for him to take any time off. Then, one day this March, he woke up in excruciating pain, and he knew he had to address the issue. His primary-care doctor referred him to Dr. Jason Cohen. From then on, Mr. Bell’s treatment has gone quickly and smoothly, and he said that Dr. Cohen has been very reassuring, instilling great confidence, throughout the process. “I’d have to rate him as one of the best doctors I’ve ever had, and I’ve had a few,” Mr. Bell said. Dr. Cohen’s reassuring nature was immediately apparent at the first consultation, Mr. Bell said. “You get the impression that he absolutely knows what he’s doing; that’s what’s comforting about it. … You never go in and see this grim, grumpy, [angry] guy. He’ll talk sports with you. He does a lot of things to put you at ease.” As a new father, Mr. Bell said, he was a little apprehensive about surgery. But Dr. Cohen “made me feel very good about [the surgery],” Mr. Bell said. “He said, ‘this is what we’ve got to do.’ I said, ‘I’m in pain, so let’s hit it.'” Dr. Cohen expedited the procedure, Mr. Bell said, so that the surgery went ahead a week later. On the day of the operation, Mr. Bell was so relaxed that while he was waiting for the anesthesia, he was able to take a nap. The procedure itself was performed as an “open” procedure, rather than laparoscopically. Because Mr. Bell had put off surgery, the hernia had had the chance to grow to the size of a grapefruit, so minimally invasive surgery was not an option. Nevertheless, Mr. Bell arrived at the clinic at noon and was discharged by 6:30. The recovery went very quickly, he said. The day after surgery, he was up and walking around, and showering. A week afterward, he went to Washington, D.C., for business. A month and a half after surgery, he made a business trip to the Middle East via France. “My healing process was so rapid that [Dr. Cohen] said ‘there’s no reason for me to see you unless you’re having some kind of problem’,” Mr. Bell said. “He had me do a couple sit-ups on the table, and said, ‘you’re good to go.'” Overall, Mr. Bell said, “it was a very, very positive experience — certainly as positive as these things can be. “Nobody wants to be cut open again, but if I had to do it again, I would certainly go to him and I would recommend him to my friends.”

Feb 8, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

What happens when a surgery goes wrong and something serious needs to be fixed? In Melody Glassberg’s case, the answer was to call Dr. Jason Cohen. After a May 2012 routine hernia surgery, Mrs. Glassberg found herself with a “raging infection,” and she said the surgeon who performed the operation did not help or accept any responsibility. The infection worsened, and Mrs. Glassberg told her primary-care physician that she needed a new specialist. Her doctor conferred with an infectious-disease specialist, and together they agreed that Dr. Cohen was the one for her. From the first visit, Mrs. Glassberg said, she felt like she was being taken more seriously. She believed Dr. Cohen cared about her and was invested in her recovery. “When I get to his office, I’m not a number, not a file,” she said. In fact, he now requests that records from Mrs. Glassberg’s other, unrelated medical visits be forwarded to him, so that he is up-to-date on her overall health condition. “As far as I’m concerned, I would trust him with my life,” she said. “I have trusted him with my life, several times.” The first of those times was in August 2012. With Dr. Cohen, the infectious-disease specialist, and a urogynecologist, Mrs. Glassberg was doing everything possible to avoid surgery. On a weekly basis, she consulted with Dr. Cohen, in an attempt to try any type of treatment in order to improve her condition and avoid surgery. They tried several approaches, including intravenous antibiotics. But surgery could not be avoided, so she underwent abdominal reconstruction. Dr. Cohen and a plastic surgeon performed another abdominal reconstruction operation on Mrs. Glassberg in May 2013. She recently passed the first anniversary of that procedure, and she is in good health. She expressed gratitude for Dr. Cohen’s efforts and their results. “He knows full well that I know my body, probably, better than everybody else,” Mrs. Glassberg said. “He made sure what I felt was investigated.” She said his respectful treatment of her husband, who was her primary caregiver, cemented her impression of Dr. Cohen. “The bottom line is, he’s always pleasant, always optimistic, always warm,” Mrs. Glassberg said. “He always gives me, as well as my husband, a tremendous amount of what we jokingly call ‘verbal anesthesia’ — trying to make a lousy situation a little bit better.” Today, things are better. And according to Mrs. Glassberg, for both his exceptional caring and excellent competency, she has Dr. Cohen to thank.

Jan 12, 2016 | | Los Angeles , CA
Client's rating: 5 of 5

For fifteen years, Jacklin Eghbalieh navigated the courts as a county social worker. While others worked in the field, Ms. Eghbalieh consulted with attorneys, addressed judges, took care of administrative matters, and numerous other tasks for the Department of Children and Family Services. Representing the social-services agency in court on critical issues was high-stress work. Then, Ms. Eghbalieh was diagnosed with colon cancer. The cancer was detected during a colonoscopy in October 2012, and she met with Dr. Yosef Nasseri the same night. Her doctor called Dr. Nasseri in to the emergency room so that they could consult. Ms. Eghbalieh said that there was an internal injury during the colonoscopy by another physician, but otherwise they would have done a colectomy immediately. Instead, they set a surgery date a month in the future so that she could heal and get ready for the operation. While she was in the hospital following the colonoscopy, Ms. Eghbalieh said, Dr. Nasseri visited her once or twice every day. “He was fantastic,” she said. After about a week, she went home, and Dr. Nasseri followed up on the phone and in preparatory office visits. “After I talked with him, I knew, he knew what he was doing,” Ms. Eghbalieh said. “I was sure that I would want my surgeon to be this kind of guy. He is an excellent, caring doctor.” Ms. Eghbalieh said Dr. Nasseri explained everything in a thorough and understandable way, using images where they were helpful. “Because of my ordeal, I saw a lot of doctors,” she said. Two oncologists, a gastroenterologist (who is also her cousin), and her primary-care physician — and Dr. Nasseri was the most informative of all, she said. The surgery took place on Nov. 19, 2012. Dr. Nasseri removed a third of Ms. Eghbalieh’s colon using a purely laparoscopic approach, which has many benefits over a traditional open procedure. Laparoscopic procedures use tiny incisions that leave less of a chance for infection or hernia at the incision site. The approach is associated with quick recovery, discharge from the hospital, minimal pain and a speedy return to normal activity. He sent nineteen segments of lymph nodes to the pathology lab, she said, and one of them turned up cancerous cells — small enough that the cancer would have been missed if that sample hadn’t been included, but significant enough that Ms. Eghbaliehunderwent a course of chemotherapy. The chemotherapy ended May 22, 2013, and nowadays — almost ten months later — Ms. Eghbalieh feels good. “Thank God, yes, the chemotherapy was successful,” she said. What that means: six months after the treatment ended, she had CT and blood exams and a colonoscopy. All the exams were negative for cancer, meaning she is in remission. Remission, she made sure to point out, only means the cancer is not there right now. In the meantime, she said, you can live healthy and treat every day like a gift. To that end, she has not gone back to work; she suspects the pressure was damaging to her health. She spends time with her husband and family; she’s also taken up yoga, and she has become partial to the Iyengar style. Its emphasis on breath control is very conducive, she said, to an overall feeling of well-being. And that’s what she needs right now. “Many years, I took care of other people,” she said. “Now, it’s time to take care of myself.”

10 results found. Viewing page 1 of 1.

Request An Appointment

Fill out the below short form and we’ll contact you to finalize your appointment.

What Sets Us Apart

  • Team Of Board-Certified Specialists
  • Providing Personalized & Innovative Surgical Care
  • Utilizing The Latest & Most Advanced Surgical Techniques
  • Offering Long-Term Patient Follow-Up & Direct Physician Access

Rate Us